loader image

Serengeti: the world’s richest ecosystem

Serengeti is home to the Maasai people, which means “endless plains”. Serengeti National Park is the first of its kind in Tanzania, inscribed as UNESCO World Heritage in 1981.

Serengeti is known to the world by its amazing fauna and flora, and spectacular natural views. One of nature’s most marvelous scenes, the Great Wildebeest Migration, follows a certain pattern every year around the Serengeti. Serengeti National Park also hosts “The Big Five” – Lion, Elephant, Leopard, Black Rhino, and African Buffalo, and many more species, making it the ultimate destination for safaris.


The Great Migration

The Great Wildebeest Migration – the annual migration of giant herds of grazers across Northern Tanzania and Kenya is a truly spectacular event. Over two million wildebeest, zebras and gazelles move through the Serengeti and Masai Mara ecosystems in search of green pasture, in a regular pattern.

The Big Five

The Serengeti is home to many of the big animals in Africa. These are Elephants,the Gentle giants, Lions, the king of the sahara, Leopards, the Great big rhino and the Wildebeest.


Related Destinations